History 

Part of the Schwanenburg dates back to the former Kaiserbahnhof Potsdam-Wildpark, today Halt Park Sanssouci, this was researched by Karl Liebscher of the Panketal Historical Society https://www.geschichtsverein-panketal.de. The half-timbered house was a reception building of the Kaiserbahnhof, built in 1868. There is also a book on this by Barbara Eggers.

From 1905 this station was demolished because it became too small, the new Kaiserbahnhof was built, which stands today as DB Academy in an otherwise hardly used station. The old half-timbered buildings were put into storage, since 1912 their whereabouts were unclear. At the same time, an inn called "Schwanenburg" was built in Schwanebeck on Bucher Chaussee by Otto Pierau. The Schwanenburg was successfully used as an inn, coffee house, but also as a nursery and for various dance events.

The old coffered pine ceiling of the Kaiserbahnhof has been preserved to this day, as has the massive entrance door.

After the Second World War, the building, which at times was on the specially guarded border between East Berlin and Brandenburg, was partly occupied by Soviet soldiers, then returned to the Pierau family, and used as a restaurant, event room with various tenants. In the last approx. 15 years before the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 it fell into disrepair due to a lack of renovation. An heir of the Pierau family renounced the inheritance, so it became the property of the community.

After the fall of the Berlin Wall, the entrepreneur Bernd Sparfeld bought it from the municipality and some superficial renovations were carried out. An office building was built right next door, both buildings were used for the distribution of printers. The old building was used as a warehouse on the ground floor, on the 1st floor and on the top floor were offices or company apartments.  

Between approx. 2005 and 2015 the old building, now owned by the widow and daughter Sparfeld, was no longer used.

From 2015, the building was renovated and the old building has been used as an apartment house since 2019.

Geschichte

Ein Teil der Schwanenburg geht auf den ehemaligen Kaiserbahnhof Potsdam-Wildpark zurück, heute Halt Park Sanssouci. Karl Liebscher vom Geschichtsverein Panketal https://www.geschichtsverein-panketal.de recherchierte das, das Fachwerkhaus war eine Empfangsgebäude des 1868 errichteten Kaiserbahnhofs – dazu gibt es auch ein Buch von Barbara Eggers.

Ab 1905 wurde dieser Bahnhof abgerissen, weil er zu klein wurde, es entstand der neuer Kaiserbahnhof. Die alten Fachwerkbauten wurden eingelagert, seit 1912 war der Verbleib ungeklärt. Zur selben Zeit entstand in Schwanebeck an der Bucher Chaussee ein Gasthaus namens “Schwanenburg”, gebaut von Otto Pierau, und wurde erfolgreich u.a. als Baumschule, Kaffeehaus und für unterschiedliche Tanzveranstaltungen genutzt.

Die alte Kassettendecke aus Pinienholz blieb erhalten, auch die dunklen Holzpaneelen, die massive Eingangstür.

Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das Gebäude, das zeitweise an der besonders bewachten Grenze zwischen Ost-Berlin und Brandenburg war, zum Teil von sowjetischen Soldaten bewohnt, dann an die Familie Pierau zurückgegeben, und als Gaststätte, Veranstaltungsraum mit unterschiedlichen Pächtern genutzt. In den letzten ca. 15 Jahren vor der Wende 1989 verfiel es wegen fehlender Renovierung. Ein Erbe der Familie Pierau verzichtete auf das Erbe, somit wurde es Eigentum der Gemeinde.

Nach der Wende kaufte es der Unternehmer Bernd Sparfeld von der Gemeinde, es erfolgten ein paar oberflächliche Renovierungen, die jedoch zum Teil sehr schlecht durchgeführt wurden. Ein Bürogebäude wurde direkt daneben gebaut, beide Gebäuder wurden für den Vertrieb von Drucker genutzt. Der Altbau wurde im Erdgeschoss als Lager genutzt, im 1. Stock und im Dachgeschoss waren Büros bzw. Firmenwohnungen.  

Seit ca. 2005 wurde der Altbau, nun im Besitz der Witwe und Tochter Sparfeld, nicht mehr genutzt.

 

Zeitungsartikel

Bucher Bote 2009

 

 

 

Bucher Bote 2018

 

 

 

 

 

Panketaler Bote 2018

 

 

 


Märkische Oderzeitung, Barnim Echo Bernau, 2018